Greed or Nature?

    When I first heard about the bonus that I may get, I am very excited. I calculated the amount and I am quite overwhelm by the amount. I told myself this is going to be the building block of my reserve. However, after deducting the necessary expenditure and maintanance my plan for reserve shrank by half. A thought rooted and grew in my mind. I wish to have more.

Looking back, my initial thought is contented and happy. Over the later half of the year, life is gettting better as stable income starts flowing in. The bonus is just a plus point that adds to my joy. The latter thought changes. After deducting the necessary expenditure, the bonus shrank but my salary is still untouched. I hoped to have more so that I can build up my reserve more rapidly. Is it my greed or is it nature that humans just want more and are not contented.  Is this good or bad? Wants, desires, wishes and greed are some of the forces that drives human to perform and reach out for more. It is good that man aspire to excel and to have more. But are the motivational factors good? Or it does not matter? As long as man continues to strive for excellence and performances, it does not matter whether the driving force are of good or bad nature.

I am sure many has read about the story of “Jack and the Beanstalk ” and the goose that lays golden egg. Yesterday, I was watching Wild Rice production “Jack and the beansprout”. It is a localised version of the “Jack and the beanstalk”. The same question arises once again.

There is nothing wrong for man to aspire to improve his life. There is nothing wrong to strive for excellence and continuous success. There is nothing wrong to outperform onself every now and then seek for new goals in life. But what is driving force behind our seeking and reaching for new goals in life. Is it greed for more or just some basic expectation of life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment